Access to books, audiobooks, and more - for less than a price of a paperback.
Join 38,062 members

User Tag List

It's Your First Year Teaching... But You Don't Have to Act Like It

Default It's Your First Year Teaching... But You Don't Have to Act Like It

It's Your First Year Teaching... But You Don't Have to Act Like It

ScarecrowEducation | 2003 | ISBN : 1578860296 | PDF | 130 Pages |

Product Description:

Many colleges aren't teaching teachers what they really need to know, and as a result, thousands of teachers are fleeing the profession on an annual basis. Bob Kitchen offers practical advice, not teacher speak rhetoric that helps in solving this problem. Sections include topics such as: how to find a job, how to prepare for the job, what to do and say on your first day, and how to handle various discipline situations that may arise throughout the first year.

Summary: A Must for anyone entering the teaching profession!
    Rating: 5

I have been a teacher for almost 30 years and am delighted watch my daughter enter the profession. After hearing of this book from a colleague at the community college where I do workshops and hearing her recommendation, I bought it and wish I had bought a copy for me, too! Mr. Kitchen spells out step by step everything you should do when certain things that WILL happen, happen. This is much more straightforward than the theoretical rhetoric that you are spooned in your methods courses. If you are about to enter the teaching profession, or are still a bit shaky in your first few years, this is a MUST HAVE! Dave Plummer
    Summary: Great!

I am a first year teacher, and I read this book toward the end of the school year. If only I had read it in the beginning! What a fantastic, practical guide for any first year teacher. Proof that you can learn from the experience of others.
    Thank you for writing this book!
    Summary: A great teacher